10 Best Cooling Pillows in 2018

Hot summer nights can ruin our sleep, preventing us from being at our best during the day. Luckily, the new advances in the technology of materials have led to the creation of the amazing chillows, or cooling pillows that ensure maximum airflow throughout the night. Many people ask us what is the best cooling pillow for night sweats, for hot flashes, or even for side sleepers. To help you with your search, we have reviewed the best cooling pillow options in 2018. Our picks go from cool, ventilated pillows to iso-cool memory foam pillows.

Top 10 Best Cooling Pillows Overview

Product Name TBR Recommendation
Best Cooling Pillows SZSaien Memory Foam PillowSZSaien Memory Foam Pillow Best hypoallergenic pillow
Best Cooling Pillows Comfort & Relax Ventilated Memory Foam Bed PillowComfort & Relax Ventilated Memory Foam Bed Pillow Best gel pillow
Best Cooling Pillows Feel My Bamboo Pillow with Cool ComfortFeel My Bamboo Pillow with Cool Comfort Best Bamboo pillow
Best Cooling Pillows Perfect Cloud Diamond Rest Gel Memory Foam PillowPerfect Cloud Diamond Rest Gel Memory Foam Pillow Best memory foam pillow
Best Cooling Pillows Deluxe Home Gusseted Essence of Bamboo PillowDeluxe Home Gusseted Essence of Bamboo Pillow Best pillow for back pain
Best Cooling Pillows ViscoSoft ULTRA COOLING Gel Infused Memory Foam PillowViscoSoft ULTRA COOLING Gel Infused Memory Foam Pillow Best stay cool pillow
Best Cooling Pillows Coop Home Goods Shredded Hypoallergenic Certipur Memory Foam Pillow Coop Home Goods Shredded Hypoallergenic Certipur Memory Foam Pillow  Best pillow for insomnia
Best Cooling Pillows Relax Home Life Cervical Contour Memory Foam Bamboo PillowRelax Home Life Cervical Contour Memory Foam Bamboo Pillow Best rated cooling pillow
Best Cooling Pillows Classic Brands Reversible Cool Gel and Memory Foam Double-Sided PillowClassic Brands Reversible Cool Gel and Memory Foam Double-Sided Pillow Best reversible cooling pillow
Best Cooling Pillows SleepBetter Iso-Cool Memory Foam PillowSleepBetter Iso-Cool Memory Foam Pillow Best cooling pillow for side sleepers

10. SZSaien Memory Foam Pillow

Best Cooling Pillows SZSaien Memory Foam Pillow

5.0 out of 5 stars May cause fights with your spouse if you only buy one 😝, July 30, 2018
Extremely comfortable pillow. It’s soft but super fluffy so I don’t even feel like I need to sleep with two pillows like I normally do. My fiancé and I actually fight over this pillow lol.
Average user ratingDimensions Materials
4.3/520 x 26Premium memory foam

This SZSaien pillow is dust mite resistant and hypoallergenic, which is great for people who always suffer from allergies and cannot sleep on traditional pillows. It is compatible with the human cervical structures, so it will keep you comfortable all night long.

Plus, it contains no phthalates, formaldehyde, TDCPP, PBDEs, and so on. The unique zipper design provides a customizable sleeping experience.

9. Comfort & Relax Ventilated Memory Foam Bed Pillow

Cr Sleep Ventilated Memory Foam Bed Pillow

5.0 out of 5 stars Best pillow yet, August 13, 2017

The perfect pillow is the one that you never notice. It’s a Goldilocks thing: not too hard or soft, thick or thin.This one ticks all those boxes for me. From the moment I lay down, I just don’t really think about my pillow again.

I sleep on both sides and my stomach. It works in all those positions. It’s the first pillow I’ve had that is comfortable when I stick my arm under it. When I pull it around my shoulders, it doesn’t put undue pressure anywhere. My ear never feels squished.

The only caution: I was looking forward to the cool side. While it is cool to the touch, it isn’t a deep, satisfying coolness. It lasts about 2-3 seconds.

My previous memory foam pillow would heat up, and then never cool down. I used ice packs under it. This one doesn’t hold its heat like that. So while it doesn’t feel cool, it also doesn’t get too hot. It’s a solid win.

Average user ratingDimensions Materials
4.0/524" x 16" x 4.5"one side: 65% polyester + 35% tencel for winter; the other side: 50% ice fabric + 50% polyester

This AirCell gel-infused pillow benefits from an extremely soft and light fabric, which is perfect for the warm summer season. The memory foam is ideal for people suffering from chronic pain and stiffness, helping to relieve some of the neck tension, and ensuring a restful night’s sleep.

The premium ventilated AirCell technology is also said to improve breathing, which is a decisive factor for a positive sleeping experience.

8. Feel My Bamboo Pillow with Cool Comfort

Bamboo pillow with cool comfort

5.0 out of 5 stars i like it better than the other bamboo pillows,  August 14, 2015
use this pillow everyday. i like it better than the other bamboo pillows. it is very firm, just do not wash the inner part just the outer cover
Average user ratingDimensionsMaterials
3.3/519" x 36" (King size)Cover: 40% bamboo and 60% polyester;
Interior: 100% polyurethane foam

Only available in a King size, this Bamboo pillow is estimated to have a ten-year lifespan. Its memory foam composition makes it so that it supports and contours the head and neck. The foam’s even, smooth distribution ensures that the pillow never becomes lumpy.

Due to the 100% polyurethane foam, the pillow is always cool to the touch. It is made of a 40% bamboo and 60% polyester cover, so you can machine wash it in either cold or hot water without risking anything. It also minimizes all types of respiratory allergenic reactions. The Bamboo pillow also comes with a travel carrier, and it is firm enough to keep your head in a comfortable position all night.

7. Perfect Cloud Diamond Rest Gel Memory Foam Pillow

Perfect Cloud Diamond Rest Gel Memory Foam Pillow

5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven in a pillow, March 25, 2016
I was diagnosed with “straight neck” it has been a year of hell and ever time I think it’s improving I sleep wrong on some cheap pillow. So I started searching about what was recommended as far as height and softness. This pillow fit the bill. I have to say this is the best pillow I’ve had it a month and it has only gotten better, it took about an hour to adjust to and since my neck has been pain free! I refuse to sleep without it! I have now recommended it to my friends and family and we all agree it is heaven in a pillow! It’s soft yet molds to your head and neck but not those weird memory foam ones this is different, it’s still a normal pillow with a better middle! I have two extras in my closet 🙂 best 50 I’ve ever spent
Average user ratingDimensions Materials
4.1/5Standard sizeCover: Plush quilted textile;
Interior: Memory foam filling

This pillow offers great support for the head and neck, pain relief, exquisite comfort, and a ventilated gel center. Moreover, it has a hypoallergenic composition that greatly improves the sleep of anyone suffering from allergies.

But we all know you’re here to hear about the great Diamond Rest foam. It has a revolutionary design, it reduces pressure on your spine and neck, and it keeps you comfortable all night long. It’s not the best cooling gel pillow out there, but it’s certainly one of the best pillows around.

6. Deluxe Home Gusseted Essence of Bamboo Pillow

Best Cooling Pillows Deluxe Home Gusseted Essence of Bamboo Pillow


Average user ratingDimensions Materials
N/AQueen Size: 20"x 28"Cover: 85% Polyester & 15% Rayon made from Bamboo
Interior: 100% Polyester Fiber

Our number 6 best cooling pillow is filled in the USA with hotel-quality fiber, and it’s hypoallergenic and machine washable. Resistant to dust mites, it helps with insomnia, back pain, and snoring. It also comes with a money back guarantee. The cooling bamboo cover is very soft and hypoallergenic.

Filled with poly fiber, these highly advanced pillows are not only cool to the touch, but also the softest in their category. The only reason this pillow does not rank higher on this list of best cooling pillow reviews is that there are so many high-quality cooling pillows out there.

5. ViscoSoft ULTRA COOLING Gel Infused Memory Foam Pillow

ViscoSoft ARCTIC GEL CONTOUR Pillow

4.0 out of 5 stars First 2-week Honeymoon has been Great!!, May 10, 2017

Awesome. Very comfortable and I have loved it for 2 weeks now. Hence why I’m only giving it 4 stars, instead of 2. I’ve had a contour pillow in the past, loved it at first built after a couple of months my neck and back started hurting. So I’ll try it a little longer before fire up a 5-star review.

Average user ratingDimensions Materials
3.8/520" x 14" x 4.5" Cover: COOLMAX fabric;
Interior: memory foam filling

Containing up to 30% more gel than your average cooling pillow, at least according to the company that produces it, this pillow is definitely worth its spot on this list of the best cooling pillow reviews.

While the molding memory foam and the cooling gel work about the same way as for the other cooling pillows on this list, it’s the COOLMAX© cover and the ViscoSoft guarantee that really make this cooling pillow special. If that doesn’t help you make up your mind, the 30-day money back guarantee and the 3-year warranty might just do the trick.

4. Coop Home Goods Shredded Hypoallergenic Certipur Memory Foam Pillow 

Shredded hypoallergenic memory foam pillow

5.0 out of 5 stars Best pillow I’ve ever owned, July 30, 2017
Very comfortable pillow. You can remove some of the foam if it’s to high or firm for you. I haven’t woke up with a stiff or sore neck since I got this. Highly recommended. I’m going to buy one for my guest room even though I don’t want it to be too comfortable for my guests so they don’t overstay their welcome…
Average user ratingDimensionsMaterials
4.3/5Standard Pillow measures 20" x 26". Queen size measures 20" x 30". King size measures 20" x 36" cut size.Interior: proprietary foam blend; Exterior: 60% polyester, 40% bamboo-derived rayon

Designed to last for many years without losing any of its luxurious comforts, this pillow might just be the best cooling pillow for you. Missing the regular gel cooling pad, this pillow replaces it with the Stay Cool bamboo cover. This keeps you cool all night long, reducing your tossing and turning, and promising to offer you an uninterrupted night’s sleep.

If you need any more reasons to consider getting this pillow, it’s also hypoallergenic, and you can easily machine-wash and dry it. It provides relief from neck and back pain, but also from insomnia or snoring, guaranteeing a better sleep. The Shredded Memory Foam pillow is also a great cooling pillow for side sleepers, as some happy customers report.

3. Relax Home Life Cervical Contour Memory Foam Bamboo Pillow

Best Cooling Pillows Relax Home Life Cervical Contour Memory Foam Bamboo Pillow

5.0 out of 5 starsHighly recommend!, September 24, 2016
I cannot express how much I love this pillow. I have a ruptured disc in my neck and suffer from headaches that are triggered by poor head position when sleeping. This pillow fits my head and neck snugly and have definitely noticed an improvement in headaches in the morning.
Average user rating Dimensions Materials
4.0/5Queen 14.5" X 28"
Standard 14.5" X 20"
Bamboo-Derived Rayon

This is perhaps the best rated cooling pillow when it comes to the price-to-quality ratio. It promises to provide relief from problems like insomnia, snoring, neck and back pain, migraines, TMJ, and allergies.

The stay cool cover works perfectly with the memory foam, making sure that you are being kept cool and relaxed during every moment of your restful sleep. The cover is machine washable and very soft. At the same time, the memory foam provides a pressure-free night’s sleep. Please note that the fresh foam smell is perfectly normal, and that it will go away in 72 hours at the most.

2. Classic Brands Reversible Cool Gel and Memory Foam Double-Sided Pillow

Classic Brands reversible cool gel and memory foam pillow

4.0 out of 5 stars This pillow is making me consider a life of crime., February 4, 2015
This pillow is awesome. Really comfy and supportive. My boyfriend has trouble sleeping because of how hot he gets, and this pillow seems to have solved this problem. It did come with a very strong chemical smell, but we left it inside the cover, and then put a pillow case on it. Once it is inside the pillow case, you can’t really smell it anymore. It isn’t an offensive smell, it just smells like plastic. I love this pillow and want one for myself now. I plan to slowly transition the pillow from his side of the bed to mine, until he forgets altogether that he bought it. I am unapologetic about this long-con. The pillow will be mine.
Average user ratingDimensionsMaterials
3.7/516" x 24" x 5"memory foam + mesh knit cover

This reversible pillow offers two sleeping surfaces in one small, comfortable package. It’s the second best cooling pillow for hot flashes out there. You can use the cool gel side for warmer nights, and the memory foam side for cooler nights. Due to the soft memory foam, your head, neck, and shoulders will stay in a comfortable, sleep-optimal position all night long.

The product comes with a 3-year warranty to ensure that every client is happy with their purchase. Apart from the traditional cooling system, the pillow also uses a series of holes to promote airflow, and to keep you cool and comfortable all night long. Five inches thick, it is the ideal pillow for back, side, as well as stomach sleepers. Ideal, that is, until you come face to cover with the number one spot on this list of best cooling pillows.

1. SleepBetter Iso-Cool Memory Foam Pillow

Sleep Better Iso-Cool Memory Foam Pillow

5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping cool., July 21, 2017
No more sweaty head or neck on hot summer nights. Pillow does not feel cold or cool to touch, just keeps you cool and very comfortable too. Thank you!
Average user ratingDimensionsMaterials
3.7/523" x 15.5" x 5"100% cotton cover, visco-elastic memory foam filling

The absolute best cooling pillow out there, according to many satisfied users, the Iso-Cool pillow comes in three shapes and sizes: the Contour version, the Standard version, and the Gusseted Side Sleeper version. Due to the visco-elastic memory foam, it is the best cooling pillow for side sleepers.

The pillow’s cover is made out of 100% cotton, and the Outlast Adaptive Comfort technology helps it absorb heat, and either give off a cool feeling or a warm feeling, depending on the outside temperature. So, you can’t really say that this pillow stays cool as much as it adapts to the environment.

Conclusion

Whether you are a hot sleeper or a gusseted side sleeper, we hope our top will help you pick the best cooling pillow out there. The ideal product is one that combines iso-cool memory foam with the cooling gel technology. It’s very important to stay cool during the summer, and we consider the iso-cool memory foam to be the best solution.

Have you ever used a cooling pillow? Please share your experience with the best cooling pillow you’ve ever tested!

Recommended Read: Best Cooling Sheets

Recent Comments:

5 Comments

  1. Leslie A. Reply
    • Rex J. Elliott Reply
  2. Big Badger Reply
    • Rex J. Elliott Reply
  3. Morgan Christopher Reply

Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.