10 Best Cooling Pillows in 2018

Hot summer nights can ruin our sleep, preventing us from being at our best during the day. Luckily, the new advances in technology of materials have led to the creation of the amazing chillows, or cooling pillows that ensure maximum air flow throughout the night. Many people ask us what is the best cooling pillow for night sweats, for hot flashes, or even for side sleepers? To help you with your search, we have reviewed the best cooling pillow options in 2018. Our picks go from cool, ventilated pillows to iso-cool memory foam pillows.

10. SZSaien Memory Foam Pillow

SZSAIEN Memory Foam Pillow with Cooling Gel

 

5.0 out of 5 stars This pillow really does keep me feeling cool
I have tried memory foam pillows before, but never one with cooling gel, so I thought this pillow was a unique idea from the start. It is semi-soft memory foam, so it contours to your head and neck fairly well, unlike some firmer memory foam pillows I have used before. The gel really does keep you cooler during the night, so I think it would be perfect for those who don’t have air conditioning.For me, I did not find any actual flaws. I love it.

 

Average user ratingDimensions Materials
4.0/524 x 16 x 4.5Cotton/poly blend; memory foam filling

This SZSaien-manufactured pillow contains cooling gel memory foam, which is great for relieving headaches, as well as neck and spine pain. It has the capacity to withstand the impact force, and it offers high moisture absorption, leading to a relaxing sleeping experience.

The pillowcase surface is detachable, making it easy to be washed, and the cotton/poly blend gives it a good wear resistance.

9. Comfort & Relax Ventilated Memory Foam Bed Pillow

Cr Sleep Ventilated Memory Foam Bed Pillow

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Best pillow yet, August 13, 2017

The perfect pillow is the one that you never notice. It’s a Goldilocks thing: not too hard or soft, thick or thin.This one ticks all those boxes for me. From the moment I lay down, I just don’t really think about my pillow again.

I sleep on both sides and my stomach. It works in all those positions. It’s the first pillow I’ve had that is comfortable when I stick my arm under it. When I pull it around my shoulders, it doesn’t put undue pressure anywhere. My ear never feels squished.

The only caution: I was looking forward to the cool side. While it is cool to the touch, it isn’t a deep, satisfying coolness. It lasts about 2-3 seconds.

My previous memory foam pillow would heat up, and then never cool down. I used ice packs under it. This one doesn’t hold its heat like that. So while it doesn’t feel cool, it also doesn’t get too hot. It’s a solid win.

 

Average user ratingDimensions Materials
4.1/524" x 16" x 4.5"one side: 65% polyester + 35% tencel for winter; the other side: 50% ice fabric + 50% polyester

This AirCell gel-infused pillow benefits from an extremely soft and light fabric, which is perfect for the warm summer season. The memory foam is ideal for people suffering from chronic pain and stiffness, helping to relieve some of the neck tension, and ensuring a restful night’s sleep.

The premium ventilated AirCell technology is also said to improve breathing, which is a decisive factor for a positive sleeping experience.

8. Feel My Bamboo Pillow Bamboo Pillow with Cool Comfort

Bamboo pillow with cool comfort

 

5.0 out of 5 stars i like it better than the other bamboo pillows
use this pillow everyday. i like it better than the other bamboo pillows. it is very firm, just do not wash the inner part just the outer cover

 

Average user ratingDimensionsMaterials
3.0/5Queen size: 31”L x 20”W; King size: 37’L x 20”WCover: 40% bamboo and 60% polyester;
Interior: 100% polyurethane foam

Only available in King and Queen size, this Bamboo pillow is estimated to have a ten-year lifespan. Its memory foam composition makes it so that it supports and contours the head and neck. The foam’s even, smooth distribution ensures that the pillow never becomes lumpy.

Due to the 100% polyurethane foam, the pillow is always cool to the touch. The pillow is made of a 40% bamboo and 60% polyester cover, so you can machine wash it in either cold or hot water without risking anything. It also minimizes all types of respiratory allergenic reactions. The Bamboo pillow also comes with a travel carrier, and is firm enough to keep your head in a comfortable position all night.

7. Perfect Cloud Diamond Rest Gel Memory Foam Pillow

Perfect Cloud Diamond Rest Gel Memory Foam Pillow

5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven in a pillow, March 25 2016
I was diagnosed with “straight neck” it has been a year of hell and ever time I think it’s improving I sleep wrong on some cheap pillow. So I started searching about what was recommended as far as height and softness. This pillow fit the bill. I have to say this is the best pillow I’ve had it a month and it has only gotten better, it took about an hour to adjust to and since my neck has been pain free! I refuse to sleep without it! I have now recommended it to my friends and family and we all agree it is heaven in a pillow! It’s soft yet molds to your head and neck but not those weird memory foam ones this is different, it’s still a normal pillow with a better middle! I have two extras in my closet 🙂 best 50 I’ve ever spent
Average user ratingDimensions Materials
4.1/5Standard sizeCover: Plush quilted textile;
Interior: Memory foam filling

This pillow offers great support for the head and neck, pain relief, exquisite comfort, and a ventilated gel center. Moreover, it has a hypoallergenic composition that greatly improves the sleep of anyone suffering from allergies.

But we all know you’re here to hear about the great Diamond Rest foam. It has a revolutionary design, it reduces pressure on your spin and neck, and it keeps you comfortable all night long. It’s not the best cooling gel pillow out there, but it’s certainly one of the best pillows around.

6. Deluxe Home Essence of Bamboo Derived Rayon Pillow

Bamboo Pillow Fote Home Goods

5.0 out of 5 stars Stay cool and comfortable., September 2, 2016
I have a terrible time finding pillows that I like, but this one is might just be the one. I have had it for about a month now and it is holding strong, it has stayed fluffy but firm enough to support my neck and head, and it stays very cool at night which is a big plus for me because I run warm at night. I love the fact that they are machine washable and dryer safe (I have ruined countless pillows that way), and that they were very reasonably priced. I have no complaints 🙂

 

Average user ratingDimensions Materials
3.6/5Queen Size: 20"x 28" and King Size: 20"x 36" Cover: Bamboo-derived rayon;
Interior: Poly fiber filling

Our number 6 best cooling pillow is filled in the USA with hotel-quality fiber, and it’s hypoallergenic and machine washable. Resistant to dust mites, it helps with insomnia, back pain, and snoring. It also comes with a one-month money back guarantee. The cooling bamboo cover is very soft, and hypoallergenic.

Filled with poly fiber, these highly advanced pillows are not only cool to the touch, but also the softest in their category. The only reason this pillow does not rank higher on this list of best cooling pillow reviews is because there are so many high-quality cooling pillows out there.

5. ViscoSoft ARCTIC GEL CONTOUR Pillow

ViscoSoft ARCTIC GEL CONTOUR Pillow

4.0 out of 5 stars First 2-week Honeymoon has been Great!!, May 10, 2017

Awesome. Very comfortable and I have loved it for 2 weeks now. Hence why I’m only giving it 4 stars, instead of 2. I’ve had a contour pillow in the past, loved it at first built after a couple of months my neck and back started hurting. So I’ll try it a little longer before fire up a 5-star review.

Average user ratingDimensions Materials
3.8/520" x 14" x 4.5" Cover: COOLMAX fabric;
Interior: memory foam filling

Containing up to 30% more gel than your average cooling pillow, at least according to the company that produces it, this pillow is definitely worth its spot on this list of the best cooling pillow reviews.

While the molding memory foam and the cooling gel work about the same way as for the other cooling pillows on this list, it’s the COOLMAX© cover and the ViscoSoft guarantee that really make this cooling pillow special. If that doesn’t help you make up your mind, the 30-day money back guarantee and the 3-year warranty might just do the trick.

4. Coop Home Goods Shredded Hypoallergenic Certipur Memory Foam Pillow 

Shredded hypoallergenic memory foam pillow

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Best pillow I’ve ever owned, July 30, 2017
Very comfortable pillow. You can remove some of the foam if it’s to high or firm for you. I haven’t woke up with a stiff or sore neck since I got this. Highly recommended. I’m going to buy one for my guest room even though I don’t want it to be too comfortable for my guests so they don’t overstay their welcome…

 

Average user ratingDimensionsMaterials
4.2/5Standard Pillow measures 20" x 26". Queen size measures 20" x 30". King size measures 20" x 36" cut size.Interior: proprietary foam blend; Exterior: 60% polyester, 40% bamboo-derived rayon

Designed to last for many years without losing any of its luxurious comfort, this pillow might just be the best cooling pillow for you. Missing the regular gel cooling pad, this pillow replaces it with the Stay Cool bamboo cover. This keeps you cool all night long, reducing your tossing and turning, and promising to offer you an uninterrupted night’s sleep.

If you need any more reasons to consider getting this pillow, it’s also hypoallergenic, and you can easily machine-wash and dry it. It provides relief from neck and back pain, but also from insomnia or snoring, guaranteeing a better sleep. The Shredded Memory Foam pillow is also a great cooling pillow for side sleepers, as some happy customers report.

3. Relax Home Life Reversible Memory Foam Stay Cool Pillow

Relax Home Life Cooling Pillow with Reversible Memory Foam

 

5.0 out of 5 stars I really like this pillow
I really like this pillow. It is not as firm as some of the other memory foam pillows that I have tried, therefore, it provides just the right amount of firmness. The cool side feels very soothing. I highly recommend this product, specially, for back sleepers.
 
Average user rating Dimensions Materials
3.5/5 24" x 5" x 16" memory foam +
cooling gel

This is perhaps the best rated cooling pillow when it comes to the price-to-quality ratio. It also comes with a very specific set of instructions, to make sure that your use of the pillow goes unhindered.

The cooling gel works perfectly in unison with the memory foam, making sure that you are being kept cool and relaxed during every moment of your restful sleep. The cooling gel creates a chilly sleeping surface, by dispersing the body heat. At the same time, the memory foam provides a pressure-free night’s sleep.  Please note that the fresh foam smell is perfectly normal, and that it will go away in 72 hours at the most.

2. Classic Brands Reversible Cool Gel and Memory Foam Pillow

Classic Brands reversible cool gel and memory foam pillow

 

4.0 out of 5 stars This pillow is making me consider a life of crime.
This pillow is awesome. Really comfy and supportive. My boyfriend has trouble sleeping because of how hot he gets, and this pillow seems to have solved this problem. It did come with a very strong chemical smell, but we left it inside the cover, and then put a pillow case on it. Once it is inside the pillow case, you can’t really smell it anymore. It isn’t an offensive smell, it just smells like plastic. I love this pillow and want one for myself now. I plan to slowly transition the pillow from his side of the bed to mine, until he forgets altogether that he bought it. I am unapologetic about this long-con. The pillow will be mine.

 

Average user ratingDimensionsMaterials
3.9/516" x 24" x 5"memory foam + knit cover

This reversible pillow offers two sleeping surfaces in one small, comfortable package. It’s the second best cooling pillow for hot flashes out there. You can use the cool gel side for warmer nights, and the memory foam side for cooler nights. Due to the soft memory foam, your head, neck, and shoulders will stay in a comfortable, sleep-optimal position all night long.

The product comes with a 3-year warranty to ensure that every client is happy with their purchase. Apart from the traditional cooling system, the pillow also uses a series of holes to promote airflow, and to keep you cool and comfortable all night long. Five inches thick, it is the ideal pillow for back, side, as well as stomach sleepers. Ideal, that is, until you come face to cover with the number one spot on this list of best cooling pillows.

1. SleepBetter Iso-Cool Memory Foam Pillow

Sleep Better Iso-Cool Memory Foam Pillow

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping cool., July 21, 2017
No more sweaty head or neck on hot summer nights. Pillow does not feel cold or cool to touch, just keeps you cool and very comfortable too. Thank you!

 

Average user ratingDimensionsMaterials
3.7/523" x 15.5" x 5"100% cotton cover, visco-elastic memory foam filling

The absolute best cooling pillow out, according to many satisfied users, the Iso-Cool pillow comes in three shapes and sizes: the Contour version, the Standard version, and the Gusseted Side Sleeper version. Due to the visco-elastic memory foam, it is the best cooling pillow for side sleepers.

The pillow’s cover is made out of 100% cotton, and the Outlast Adaptive Comfort technology helps it absorb heat, and either give off a cool felling or a warm feeling, depending on the outside temperature. So, you can’t really say that this pillow stays cool as much as it adapts to the environment.

Conclusion

Whether you are a hot sleeper, or a gusseted side sleeper, we hope our top will help you pick the best cooling pillow out there. The ideal product is one that combines iso-cool memory foam with the cooling gel technology. It’s very important to stay cool during the summer, and we consider the iso-cool memory foam the best solution.

Have you ever used a cooling pillow? Please share your experience with the best cooling pillow you’ve ever tested!

Recommended Read: Best Cooling Sheets

Recent Comments:

Reply