10 Best Cooling Pillows

Hot summer nights can ruin our sleep, preventing us from being at our best during the day. Luckily, the new advances in technology of materials have led to the creation of the amazing chillows, or cooling pillows that ensure a maximum air flow throughout the night. Many people ask us what is the best cooling pillow for night sweats, for hot flashes, or event for side sleepers? Of course, we all want to prevent night sweats with a high-quality cooling pillow.

To help you with your search, we have reviewed the best cooling pillow options available online. These cooling pillows can come in three shapes and sizes: Standard, Queen, and King. Our picks go from cool ventilated pillows to iso-cool memory foam pillows. Read our reviews and find the best pillow that will help you have a good night sleep despite the high temperatures.

10. SZSAIEN Memory Foam Pillow with Cooling Gel

SZSAIEN Memory Foam Pillow with Cooling Gel

 

5.0 out of 5 stars This pillow really does keep me feeling cool
I have tried memory foam pillows before, but never one with cooling gel, so I thought this pillow was a unique idea from the start. It is semi-soft memory foam, so it contours to your head and neck fairly well, unlike some firmer memory foam pillows I have used before. The gel really does keep you cooler during the night, so I think it would be perfect for those who don’t have air conditioning.For me, I did not find any actual flaws. I love it.

 

Average user ratingDimensions Materials
3.9/524 x 16 x 4.5Cotton/poly blend; memory foam filling

This SZSAIEN-manufactured pillow has a cooling gel memory foam, which is great for relieving headaches, as well as neck and spine pain. It has the capacity to withstand the impact force and it offers high moisture absorption, conducive for a relaxing sleeping experience.

The pillowcase surface is detachable, making it easy to be washed and the cotton/poly blend gives it a good wear resistance.

9. Cr Sleep Ventilated Memory Foam Pillow with Air Cell Technology

Cr Sleep Ventilated Memory Foam Bed Pillow

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Pillow, July 30, 2017
So far this pillow has been working really well. I didn’t know that there was both a warm and cool side to the pillow, but I can definitely feel the difference of the cool side, even through a pillowcase. The bad smell goes away in a few days as well.
Mine also came with a free sleeping mask, which I thought was a great addition and a nice surprise.

 

Average user ratingDimensions Materials
4.2/524" x 16" x 4.5" one side: 65% polyester and 35% tencel for winter; the other side: 50% ice fabric + 50% polyester

This aircell gel-infused pillow benefits from an extremely soft and light fabric, which is perfect for the warm summer season. The memory foam is ideal for people suffering from chronic pain and stiffness, helping to relieve some of the neck tension and ensuring a restful night sleep.

The premium ventilated Aircell technology is also said to improve breathing, which is a decisive factor for a positive sleeping experience.

8. Bamboo Pillow with Cool Comfort – Feel My Bamboo Pillow

Bamboo pillow with cool comfort

 

5.0 out of 5 stars i like it better than the other bamboo pillows
use this pillow everyday. i like it better than the other bamboo pillows. it is very firm, just do not wash the inner part just the outer cover

 

Average user ratingDimensionsMaterials
3.8/5Queen size: 31”L x 20”W; King size: 37’L x 20”WCover: 40% bamboo and 60% polyester;
Interior: 100% polyurethane foam

Only available in King and Queen size, this Bamboo pillow is estimated to have a ten-year lifespan. Its memory foam composition makes it so that it supports and contours the head and neck. The foam’s even, smooth distribution makes sure that the pillow never becomes lumpy.

Due to the 100% polyurethane foam, the pillow is always cool to the touch. The pillow is made of 40% bamboo, 60% polyester cover, so you can machine wash it in either cold or hot water without risking anything. It also minimizes all types of respiratory allergenic reactions. The Bamboo pillow also comes with a travel carrier, and is firm enough to keep your head in a comfortable position all night.

7. Dual Option Cooling Gel Memory Foam Pillow – Perfect Cloud

Perfect Cloud Dual Option Cooling-Gel Pillow

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Very comfortable pillow, February 11, 2017
This pillow is so comfortable, it took a few nights to get used to because I’ve never owned one like this. My other pillows would go flat, not this one. I’m a side sleeper and this contours perfectly to my neck and head. It seems to be very well constructed, as far as the cooling, it is definitely better than the average pillow, I find it helpful to flip it if I start getting hot flashes. I would definitely recommend this pillow to a friend. Best one I’ve ever had.
Average user ratingDimensions Materials
4.0/524" x 16"Cover: Cotton/poly blend;
Interior: Memory foam filling

This 24×16-inch pillow offers great support for head and neck, pain relief, exquisite comfort, and a dual option cooling system. Moreover, it has a hypoallergenic composition that greatly improves the sleep of anyone suffering from allergies. It is also 100% made in the USA.

But we all know you’re here to hear about the great dual cooling system of the Perfect Cloud pillow, and not only about the memory foam. One side features the excellent cooling memory foam. The other side presents us with a cooling gel layer that can keep your pillow cool until you fall asleep. It’s not the best cooling gel pillow out there, but it’s certainly one of the best pillows that will reduce pressure on the neck and spine during the night. Moreover, this dual option cooling-gel pillow will allow you to enjoy both the cooling effects of the gel technology, and the comfort provided by the memory foam.

6. Bamboo Pillow Fote Home Goods

Bamboo Pillow Fote Home Goods

5.0 out of 5 stars Stay cool and comfortable., September 2, 2016
I have a terrible time finding pillows that I like, but this one is might just be the one. I have had it for about a month now and it is holding strong, it has stayed fluffy but firm enough to support my neck and head, and it stays very cool at night which is a big plus for me because I run warm at night. I love the fact that they are machine washable and dryer safe (I have ruined countless pillows that way), and that they were very reasonably priced. I have no complaints 🙂

 

Average user ratingDimensions Materials
3.6/5Queen Size: 20"x 28" and King Size: 20"x 36" Cover: Bamboo-derived rayon;
Interior: Poly fiber filling

Our number 6 best cooling pillow is filled in the USA with hotel-quality fiber, is hypoallergenic and machine washable. Resistant to dust mites, it helps with insomnia, back pain, and snoring. It also comes with a one-month money back guarantee. This cooling pillow is filled with bamboo fiber, that takes the contour of your neck and shoulders, guaranteeing maximum comfort. The cooling bamboo cover is very soft, and hypoallergenic.

Filled with poly fiber, these highly advanced pillows are not only cool to the touch, but also the softest in their category. The only reason this pillow does not rank higher on this list of best cooling pillow reviews is because of the very steep quality-to-price ratio. However, that discrepancy will be totally gone for a while, until the Amazon sale goes away.

Recommended read: You should match your perfect cooling pillow with a set of perfect cooling sheets.

5. ARCTIC GEL CONTOUR Pillow – ViscoSoft

ViscoSoft Hypoallergenic Memory Foam Arctic Gel pillow

 

4.0 out of 5 stars amazing pillow, February 18, 2017

not going to lie, I absolutely love this pillow. I have been using the official temperpedic (I know that’s spelled wrong sorry) and I bought one of these just to try it out and fell in love with it. the ONLY thing I am unhappy about is that the pillow is so small! I emailed and asked for larger sizes they said that hopefully by the end of the year they will have king size pillows so once those come out my rating will change from a 4 to a 5 ^_^.

Average user ratingDimensions Materials
3.6/5 24" x 16" x 4" Cover: COOLMAX fabric;
Interior: memory foam filling

Containing up to 30% more gel than your average cooling pillow, at least according to the company that produces it, this pillow is definitely worth its spot on this list of the best cooling pillow reviews. It has bamboo derived rayon cover that is removable and washable.

While the molding memory foam and the cooling gel work about the same way as for the other cooling pillows on this list, it’s the COOLMAX© cover and the ViscoSoft guarantee that really make this cooling pillow special. If that doesn’t help you make up your mind, the 30-day money back guarantee and the 3-year warranty might just do the trick.

4. Shredded Hypoallergenic Certipur Memory Foam Pillow – Coop Home Goods

Shredded hypoallergenic memory foam pillow

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Best pillow I’ve ever owned, July 30, 2017
Very comfortable pillow. You can remove some of the foam if it’s to high or firm for you. I haven’t woke up with a stiff or sore neck since I got this. Highly recommended. I’m going to buy one for my guest room even though I don’t want it to be too comfortable for my guests so they don’t overstay their welcome…

 

Average user ratingDimensionsMaterials
4.3/5Standard Pillow measures 20 in x 26 in. Queen size measures 20 in x 30 in. King measures 20 in x 36 in cut size.Interior: Interlock fabric, Premium grade proprietary foam blend; Exterior: 60% polyester, 40% rayon

Designed to last for many years without losing any of its luxurious comfort, the Ultimate Bamboo Pillow might just be the best cooling pillow for you. Missing the regular gel cooling pad, this pillow replaces it with the Stay Cool bamboo cover. This keeps you cool all night long, reducing your tossing and turning, and promising to offer you an uninterrupted night sleep.

If you need any more reasons to consider getting this pillow, it’s also highly hypoallergenic, and you can easily machine-wash and dry it. It provides relief from neck and back pain, but also from insomnia or snoring, guaranteeing a better sleep. The Shredded Memory Foam pillow is also a great cooling pillow for side sleepers, as some happy customers report.

3. Cooling Pillow with Reversible Memory Foam – Relax Home Life

Relax Home Life Cooling Pillow with Reversible Memory Foam

 

5.0 out of 5 stars I really like this pillow
I really like this pillow. It is not as firm as some of the other memory foam pillows that I have tried, therefore, it provides just the right amount of firmness. The cool side feels very soothing. I highly recommend this product, specially, for back sleepers.
 
Average user rating Dimensions Materials
3.5/5 24 x 5 x 16 memory foam +
cooling gel

This is perhaps the best rated cooling pillow when it comes to the price to quality ratio. It also comes with a very specific set of instructions to make sure that your use of the pillow goes unhindered.

The cooling gel works perfectly in unison with the memory foam, making sure that you are being kept cool and relaxed during every moment of your restful sleep. The cooling gel creates a chilly sleeping surface, by dispersing the body heat. At the same time, the memory foam provides a pressure-free night’s sleep.  Please note that the fresh foam smell is perfectly normal and that it will go away in 72 hours at the most.

2. Reversible Cool Gel Memory Foam Pillow – Classic Brands

Classic Brands reversible cool gel and memory foam pillow

 

4.0 out of 5 stars This pillow is making me consider a life of crime.
This pillow is awesome. Really comfy and supportive. My boyfriend has trouble sleeping because of how hot he gets, and this pillow seems to have solved this problem. It did come with a very strong chemical smell, but we left it inside the cover, and then put a pillow case on it. Once it is inside the pillow case, you can’t really smell it anymore. It isn’t an offensive smell, it just smells like plastic. I love this pillow and want one for myself now. I plan to slowly transition the pillow from his side of the bed to mine, until he forgets altogether that he bought it. I am unapologetic about this long-con. The pillow will be mine.

 

Average user ratingDimensionsMaterials
4.0/524 x 16 x 5memory foam; knit cover

This reversible pillow offers two sleeping surfaces in one small, comfortable package. It’s the second best cooling pillow for hot flashes out there. You can use the cool gel side for cooler nights, and the memory foam side for warmer nights. Due to the soft memory foam, your head, neck and shoulders will stay in a comfortable, sleep-optimal position all night long.

The product comes with a 3-year warranty to ensure that every client is happy with their purchase. Apart from the traditional cooling system, the pillow also uses a series of holes to promote the airflow, and to keep you cool and comfortable all night long. Five inches thick, it is the ideal pillow for back, side, as well as stomach sleepers. Ideal, that is, until you come face to cover with the number one spot on this list of best cooling pillows.

1. Iso-Cool Memory Foam Pillow – SleepBetter 

Sleep Better Iso-Cool Memory Foam Pillow

 

5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping cool., July 21, 2017
No more sweaty head or neck on hot summer nights. Pillow does not feel cold or cool to touch, just keeps you cool and very comfortable too. Thank you!

 

Average user ratingDimensionsMaterials
4.0/5 16 x 22 x 2100% cotton cover, visco-elastic memory foam filling

Rated the absolute best cooling pillow out there by satisfied users, the Iso-Cool pillow comes in three shapes and sizes: the Contour version, the Standard version, and the Gusseted Side Sleeper version. Due to the visco-elastic memory foam, it is the best cooling pillow for side sleepers.

The pillow’s cover is made out of 100% cotton, and the Outlast Adaptive Comfort technology helps it absorb heat, and either give off a cool felling or a warm feeling, depending on the outside temperature. So, you can’t really say that this pillow stays cool as much as it adapts to the environment. It is the absolute best cooling pillow out there, and we cannot recommend it any higher.

Final Word

Whether you are a hot sleeper, or a gusseted side sleeper, we hope our top will help you pick the best cooling pillow out there. The ideal product is one that combines the iso-cool memory foam with the cooling gel technology. It’s very important to stay cool during the summer, and we consider the iso-cool memory foam the best solution. Have you ever used a cooling pillow? Please share your experience and thoughts with us!

Recent Comments:

Reply